Rose’s Bakery: Scrumptious Sablés.

The weather is getting more rainy and the leaves are falling off the trees, so there’s not too much to do outside anymore. And what do you do when you need some comfort from the inside of your home? You bake! Or well, I do.
I’ve tried a ton of baking recipes and many of them have disappointed me. Either the cakes are too dry or the cookies are too soft to my liking. But there’s one recipe that blew my mind, and you’re in for a treat (see what I did there? hehe), ’cause I’m going to share it with you!
If you follow the recipe to the dot, you’ll have lovely crispy cookies that don’t take too much effort (and will be loved by everyone).

Let’s go!

What you’ll need: 
– One egg
– 250 grams of plain flour
– 125 grams of sugar
– 250 grams of butter (cut in little pieces)
– A pinch of salt

– A small and a big bowl
– A baking tray
– Baking paper
– A fork

DSC_0258d

Step one: 
The first thing you need to do is preheat your oven to 180℃ (365℉), so it’s nice and hot when you want to put your cookies in. After that it’s time to cut your baking paper to size and put it on your baking tray.

DSC_0265

Step two:
Alright, now put the sugar, flour, a pinch of salt and butter together in the bigger bowl and mix all of it together with your fingers till you get a crumbly consistency.

collage.jpg

Step three: 
Break the egg in a bowl and mix it loosely with a fork (as if you’re making an omelette). Pour your egg (and your flavouring, if you’ve got one) in the flour-mixture and mix it all together to get a dough.
When your dough is ready, fold it in some plastic film and let it rest in the fridge for half an hour (the dough will be easier to roll out when it has cooled down a little).

DSC_0321b

Step four:
When your dough is cooled down completely, it’s time to roll it out (don’t forget to sprinkle some flour on your worktop, so the dough doesn’t stick to it!). Keep rolling, rolling and rolling till it’s about 5 millimeters thick.

DSC_0235

Step five: 
Now it’s time for the most fun part of the process: cut your cookies with your favourite cookie cutters! I love making my cookies in many different shapes and sizes, and I really do enjoy this part the most.

DSC_0238

DSC_0267

Once all your cookies are done, and you’ve laid them on your baking tray, it’s time to shove them in the oven for about 12 to 15 minutes. Make sure you keep an eye on them, because they can go from golden to dark brown in a minute!

DSC_0313
I am really excited to see my cookies all done, can you tell? ;)

DSC_0311

After letting the sablés cool down a little (if you’ve got enough patience to do that, I often don’t) they get their lovely crisp and it’s time to devour them! My father always gets really happy when I bake, since he’s got a real sweet tooth (these cookies are always gone in a day!), and it’s nice to make people happy, so I try to do it as much as I can.

I hope you enjoy this recipe, and if you decide to give it a go, I’d love to see photos of your sablés! I’m on Instagram, Twitter and Tumblr, so just tag me in your photos there (I promise to take a look!).

Happy baking!


One thought on “Rose’s Bakery: Scrumptious Sablés.

Leave a Reply

