Rose’s Bakery: Yummy In My Tummy Meringue-Custard.

Who doesn’t like a little meringue every once in a while? And who, who in the world, doesn’t like the sweet goodness of custard? (If you’re either one of those people, I’m sorry, this one isn’t for you.) Well, I combined the two for today’s recipe! Oh and yes, it is going to be very, very yummy in your tummy.

What you’ll need: 

Ingredients:
-750 milliliters of milk
-160 grams of vanilla sugar
-6 eggs
-2 eggs split
-2 tablespoons of jelly/jam

Extra’s:
-A pan
-An oven dish
-A bigger oven dish (the other one should fit inside this one!)
-A mixer
-A fork

DSC_0164c

Let’s get baking!

Step one: 
Preheat your oven to 150℃ (around 300ºF).

Step two: 
Put the milk and 80 grams of the vanilla sugar together in your pan and slowly bring it to a boil, so all the flavours can blend.

DSC_0176

DSC_0177

DSC_0183

Step three:
Whisk the six eggs and two egg yolks together with a fork and slowly add the vanilla-milk mixture (whilst mixing!).
Pour the mixture in your oven dish, but don’t fill it up above 2/3 of it!

DSC_0188

DSC_0189

DSC_0193

DSC_0194

Step four: 
Fill the bigger oven dish with water till it’s half full and put the smaller oven dish in it (do this very carefully! You don’t want any water to get in your custard!).
Bake your custard in the oven for 50 to 60 minutes.

DSC_0196

Step five: 
Get your custard out of the oven and heat up the oven to 200℃ (around 390ºF).

DSC_0201

Step six: 
Whisk the egg whites till they’re stiff and add the remaining sugar to it (do this about five minutes before serving!).
Scoop your egg whites over the custard. Decoratively pour your jam or jelly over the egg whites and put everything in the oven for another 5 to 10 minutes, so the meringue gets golden brown.

Collage 3


DSC_0246

Isn’t it beautiful? This is definitely one of the most pretty things I’ve ever baked!

DSC_0256

Time to eat this delicious dish! It will work perfectly as a dessert after a nice meal, but you could also serve it with a nice cup of tea around 4, ofcourse! ;)

Happy baking!


14 thoughts on “Rose’s Bakery: Yummy In My Tummy Meringue-Custard.

  1. P.S just the other day I was wondering absent minded less “hey has anyone used the phrase Yummy in my Tummy” in a food blog? I swear I really did – no kidding. And lo and behold, saw your blog on my tag feed and had to comment haha!

    Like

      1. What does the reference to the Little Garden mean? Sorry for flooding your comments page, I’m just sincerely curious. It’s a quaint name for a blog, reminds me of spring, which, like, never happens in Melbourne properly haha!

        Like

      2. It just kind of came to me. It does refer to the ‘garden of thoughts’ that constantly run through my mind, in some way. No problem! I love talking to people on the internet! ;) The name really just popped into my head when I was thinking about starting a blog and I couldn’t get it out, so I really just had to use it, hehe. :)

        Like

      3. Yeah, the best ideas are the organic ideas! The name stuck out to me that’s why I zoomed in on it out of the crazy abundance of blogs out there. Our own site comes from me habitually taking a photo of my wife’s cooking and posting on FB “My wife made…”. People encouraged us to start a blog so we did, with that weird name. Heh. Come visit if you have the time!

        We’ve followed you so will definitely pop back in to see your new recipes. Post more often! Everything looks so delicious – VERY agonising considering I’m awake at 6am and hungry here in Melbourne lol! You really have a wonderful talent.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. That’s so fun! And great of the people around you to encourage you like that, since blogging really enriches your life!
        I do really want to post more recipes! I’m just getting in the habit of writing them and taking pictures (it’s so much work! I love doing it, but it does take up a lot of time :)). I’m thinking about posting savoury recipes too, so that’s probably happening quite soon. :)
        Thank you so much for your compliments! It fills my heart with joy to read them. :)

        Like

Leave a Reply

