Rose’s Bakery: Guilt Free Fruity Carrot Cake.

Last weekend I suddenly felt like doing some late night baking. I was thinking something fruity, utterly delicious, yet not too heavy on the calorie-scale. After some research on the internet, I didn’t actually find what I was looking for (which I found kind of odd), so I decided to get creative and make my own take on carrot cake (rhymes, hooray!).

For some reason I couldn’t get the idea of pairing up carrots and apples out of my head. It just seemed like such a heavenly thing, to combine my two favourite kinds of cake and smush it into one, and yes: I did it!
I made a cake that has the consistency of a brownie, is filled with fruity goodness, tastes like carrot cake 2.0 and isn’t bad for you (as long as you don’t decide to have the whole thing in one go, that might be bad).

IMG_2002

Let’s get going with the recipe!

What you’ll need: 

Ingredients:
-50 grams of cane sugar
-2 eggs
-50 ml of (vegetable) oil
-130 grams of wholemeal flour
-50 grams of baking powder
-2 teaspoons of cinnamon
-1 teaspoon of five spice powder
-3 apples
-1 large carrot
-120 grams of raisins
-A handful of blueberries (optional)

Extra’s:
-Springform
-Mixer
-A bowl
-Baking paper

Step one: 
Grate the apples and carrot and put them away for later.

Step two: 
Put the oil, sugar and eggs together in a bowl and mix them together till you get a smooth mixture.

Step three: 
Add the flour and spices to the egg-mixture and mix it all together so you get a smooth batter.
Add the apples, carrot and raisins to it and mix again, so every fruity piece is covered in batter (it might look like there’s not enough batter there, but there is, trust me).

Step four: 
Cover the bottom of your springform with baking paper, so your cake doesn’t stick to it (you can also do this at the sides, but since you can cut the cake loose from them, it’s not a necessity). Put the batter in the springform and make sure it’s even everywhere.
Now, if you’re using the blueberries, it’s time to sprinkle them over your mixture before you put it in the oven, so that they can get even more yummy!

Step five: 
Bake your cake in the oven for 30-35 minutes. Allow it some time to cool down when you get it out (it’s hard, I know, I know) and then dig in (or put it in the fridge to let it cool some more, if you want to put some kind of funky frosting on it)!
Share with all the people you love, or keep it all to yourself, whatever you want.

The thing I like most about this cake is that it’s guilt free. It’s filled with loads of vitamin-y stuff that actually really good for you, and even though there’s a little bit of sugar in it (which you don’t necessarily have to use, since the apples are quite sweet), it’s a treat that you don’t have to feel bad about for one second!
I loooooove the taste of this little thing and it’s really easy to make, so it’s definitely worth a try, maybe even to clear your fridge/fruit bowl out! Just think about having this little piece of comfort food, paired up with a good cup of tea and a book, while it’s stormy outside. I know I’m going for it! Are you?

Have a lovely day and don’t forget that spring is on the way!


Leave a Reply

