Let’s Go Analogue!

SAM_1144c

A little while ago had an enormous moment of pure joy and with that came an epiphany. I know we live in the digital age we should celebrate that, because it gives us all chances that we would never have had if it weren’t for the internet. But for someone as sentimental as I am, living outside of my computer-world is a pretty big thing. I’m constantly looking for ways to escape the online world and what I’m about to tell you about is a big part of that: I’m going analogue.

Now, this doesn’t mean my blog is going to turn into a magazine that will drop on your doormat every week or that I’m stepping away from my beautiful iPhone to get back to smoke signals, no I’m talking about photos.

“Taking photos is savouring life intensely. Every hundredth of a second.” – Marc Riboud

I have heaps and heaps of photos of me as a little (may I say adorable) kiddo, but by the time I turned ten my face stopped being printed on paper (no biggie, I’m not too much into looking at photos of my teenage years anyway), which is completely understandable and heart-breaking at the same time. Everything goes digital nowadays and I’m grateful for that, it makes the world a lot ‘smaller’ and it’s easier to bring our creativity out into the world and to other people, but iI don’t think it’s all good all the time.
I am a big time nostalgic person, I think about my childhood and the most beautiful moments I’ve had so far every day, possibly even every hour, and one of my favourite things to do is to look through old photo albums, filled with memories of the people I love most.

My so called epiphany was this: I’m going back in time. (Not really, sadly I do not have the skills to build a time machine.) Remember all those albums filled up with all your family’s most precious moments? How you could spend afternoons around the table with your family, looking through all the photos and telling each other stories about them. Yeah, let’s bring that back.
I know that we’re all documenting our lives all the time, we’re out there in the open, our lives are to be seen by anyone who cares, but that’s not the same thing. Taking the time to sort through all the thousands of photos you take, carefully choosing your favourite ones and then being able to actually hold them in the end, that’s the magic I’m talking about here.

What do we do then?
The idea is that we create a folder on our computers and save all the album-worthy photos and whenever your folder has let’s say 100 photos, you send them to the printer (which is mighty easy online) and get them delivered at your doorstep.
I should warn you though, holding actual photos in your hand makes everything a lot more loaded and emotional, so be ready and make sure you have happy-tears-tissues on hand.

What I’ve done with most of them is stick them on my walls with blu-tack, but there are loads of options. You could go all out and make it a big project like a scrapbook, or you can just put your photos in albums (or, if you live in a mansion of sorts, you can put them in frames and place them all over your house), your call.

Going analogue isn’t just something nice to do for the sake of conserving your most precious moments, it’s also a way to take a little step back, away from your computer and back into the real world. Our generation is known for being glued to our devices, and for good reason, but that makes it all the more worth it to do things that have nothing to do with the internet. It’s time to step out into the world, create meaningful moments and make sure they stay with us forever.

I am so, so excited about this and I can’t wait to have my next batch of photos sent to the printer? I you decide to do this with me feel free to share!

Much love,

Schermafbeelding 2015-08-24 om 14.23.50


Leave a Reply

