You Do You! (A Message For All The Lovers Of Passion And The Ones Who Don’t Know It Yet)

SplitShire_2747

Do you know what I find wildly sexy? People doing their thaaang. Seeing someone doing something they’re passionate about. Seeing them talk about what ignites their soul. Feeling their vibrations, their love for it, sensing the warmth in their hearts when they think of the thing they love most. That, to me, is the sexiest, most beautiful and most sacred thing in life.

To see your loved ones doing what they love, to see them bloom in whatever it is they were set out to do, that fills you with as much gratitude and warmth as it does them (and is an indicator of it being real love as well).
This is the reason you should always, without exception, support people in their dreams, their hopes, their longings. To be filled up with passion is to be alive, it is the reason we are alive, without that you don’t really live at all.

“The greatest mania of all is passion: and I am a natural slave to passion: the balance between my brain and my soul and my body is as wild and delicate as the skin of a Ming vase.” – Hunter S. Thompson, The Curse Of Lono

The first time I sensed this was with my first boyfriend, a musician, a drummer to be precise. Seeing him go up on stage, seeing the sparks fly as he played notes I’ll never be able to name, that made me come to life as much as it did him. The way I felt then, the exalted love for another’s love, that’s a feeling I’ve been chasing ever since. To be sparked by someone else’s fire is the most beautiful and personal thing, that’s the closest you’ll ever feel to anyone.

The tears that fill your eyes when your favourite singer comes up on stage and plays ‘your song’ with so much fire. The chills that go down your spine when the wanderer tells you about his adventures. The warmth you feel when your loved one is sitting on the other end of the room pouring his or her heart out on paper. The philosopher talking about the endless possibilities of death. The actor turning into someone else for a few minutes. The deepness you feel when an orchestra plays their hearts out. It’s like a tango in your heart, heated up by the flame of love. It’s beautiful, it’s magnificent, it’s sacred. It’s a bond that is never to be broken, for it simply cannot be.

SplitShire-2548

I would hereby like to make a promise, and I hope that you will too. I promise to you, to myself, to the Universe, to everyone and everything out there, that I will follow my passion and that I will always help others in doing the same. It doesn’t matter what it takes or what you’re willing to do for it. If you want to drop everything, move to a rainforest and study wildlife because that’s when you truly come to life – YES! If you’ve found a safe place in your life, with people you love, a home you adore and a job you’re happy to do, but do still feel like your true passion lies outside of that all, then by god go have an affair with it a few hours a week! YES! If it means that I will have to work jobs that I don’t necessarily love in order to be able write at 2 A.M. every night, then YES! I will do so, for doing what you love is the first and foremost important thing in your life and it’s worth everything.

 

And then there’s one important realisation: not everyone knows what their passion is. And for them I have possibly the most important message you’ll ever get, a message by my favourite writer and actually one of my favourite people in general: Elizabeth Gilbert.

If passion is a tower of flame, then curiosity is a modest spark—and we can almost always summon up a modest spark of interest about something.

Yes, clicking that quote just took you to Oprah’s website, just go with the flow here.
Let go of your hunt for your passion in order to find your passion, that’s the deal. And I suppose it makes sense, since actively looking for something important often works counter wise, doesn’t it? Have you ever looked for your keys for instance, and you just keep searching and searching until you give up and lend your roommate’s and then after you’ve come back home and go to give the dog a cuddle, you realise that they were on the kitchen counter all along, and in plain right as well. Yeah, that’s the kind of thing that would be very plausible when you actively hunt for the ignition of your soul.

“I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious.” – Albert Einstein

Relax, let go, take a breath and remember: whatever it is you’re looking for is also looking for you.

Sending you all the fiery vibes,

Schermafbeelding 2015-08-24 om 14.23.50

Images by Daniel Nanescu.


Leave a Reply

