MAGICAL MISCELLANY: DEFINITIONS OF LOVE, POTTER’S SON, FEMALE ORGASMS, AND 35 HABITS OF SUCCESSFUL PEOPLE.

SplitShire_Playing_Chess

Phew, life is back to normal! The kids are back at school and my slightly more structured life has begun again, which I’m enjoying more than I’d ever expected. Also, just being totally honest here, I’m kind of enjoying the fact that the weather has been slightly autumnal. It’s not like I was totally done with summer yet, warm days are exceptional for long walks, but the cosy nights of staying in, wrapped up in blankets with a cuppa and just writing until 2 A.M., those are my absolute fave! This week, staying up until 2 was also casually scrolling around on the Internet for a while, since it fuels the brain (or so I tell myself). Here’s what I found.

This man is living the dream. Pretty much everyone’s dream, definitely my dream. I might need to figure out how I’m going to do this myself.

☾It was James Sirius Potter’s first day at Hogwarts this week! Have you seen J.K. Rowling’s tweets? They’re incredibly sweet. And also, apparently the young man got sorted into Gryffindor, huzzah!

☾When I tell people about my best friend I always tell them that she’s basically an extraverted version of me (or I’m an introverted version of her – it works both ways) and guess what, science has proven me right!

☾I think love is one of the most interesting subjects to think about, about what it is, what it’s like, why it is, for who, with whom. What does it mean and what does it do to us? It’s the biggest muse out there and a lot of writers have tried to wrap their heads around it in the last 400 years, here are some of their most famous definitions.

“Love can change a person in the way a parent can change a baby – awkwardly, and often with a great deal of mess.”

☾I found this list of 35 daily habits that actual successful people have and just reading through it made me want to get more productive.

111213-emma-thompson-blog-1200x630

Emma Thompson on feminism, ageism, Trump and teapots. Emma is a perfect example of the sort of person I adore. Read the article and you’ll get it soon enough. Woah, what a woman.

“I remember somebody saying to me that I was too old for Hugh Grant, who’s like a year younger than me, in Sense and Sensibility. I said, ‘Do you want to go take a flying leap?'”

☾After having multiple slightly disappointing and some downright horribly dreadful experiences when it comes to the female orgasm, a woman decided to start a blog filled with essays about the subject and it’s amazing. She explains why and how here.

☾Turns out Mark Manson and I share some ideas on today’s schooling system. I’m basically down with all he’s saying, and even though I know that what he’s suggesting is most probably not going to happen any day soon, it’s definitely worth philosophising about.

A short but very sturdy message from Seth Godin. It makes you think.

 

What I’m up to.
Resting, traveling, hugging, crying happy tears, being a fool with my family and laughing about my uncle’s amazing jokes (he’s seriously hilarious) that’s basically the recipe for my weekend. I’m flying to the Netherlands early Sunday morning, and even though I haven’t felt terribly homesick in the past few months, I am super excited to see all my loved ones again. I feel a cuddle-party coming up! Yes, this totally means that my social media will be filled with windmills, clogs, cheese and Heineken (okay, don’t get your hopes up, it may be just one windmill and a slice of cheese, we’ll see).

Happy weekend you magical thing,

Schermafbeelding 2015-08-24 om 14.23.50

Images: header by Daniel Nanescu, Emma via Girl Talk HQ


Leave a Reply

