FEAR IS HOLDING YOU BACK, LET IT GO.

photo-1425116100155-1ac0797442e1

When I was having a stroll along Sloane Street a while back, a beautiful slender figure caught my eye. I froze and stared, for that is what an empowered woman does when she sees one of the most beautiful men in the world. When he walked beyond my sight I carried on my journey to the coffee shop, where I sat down and texted my best friend about the situation I’d just been in. Whilst sipping my cappuccino I thought about how stupid it was of me to not just go up to him and talk, human to human, woman to man. I still think about this encounter quite a lot, and regret always forms a solid pair with my other thoughts.

The man I laid eyes on that day was Tom Hiddleston (and yes, he’s at least as dazzling in real life as he is on screen) and the fact that I didn’t approach him still haunts me a little bit every day. I wouldn’t want to be an obnoxious fan who shoves a camera in his face right away, but the fact that he was looking kind of lost, like he was looking for something, would’ve made the perfect opportunity to go up to him and offer my help, being a local and all that. Regret is this special thing that’s so hard to let go of and trying to minimise it is something we should all strive for.

Who knows what could’ve happened if I would’ve gotten over my fear, maybe I could have walked him to his destination with the chance to talk to him for a few minutes, maybe he would have realised that it was love at first sight and we would’ve been married by now (a girl can dream, ‘kay?), maybe he would have politely told me that he knew exactly where he was going and he was just practicing his acting skills in the middle of the street, in which case I would have at least had some interaction with him. I’ll never know and that’s something I’ll never forget.

“There is only one thing that makes a dream impossible to achieve: the fear of failure.” – Paulo Coelho

The thing I’m trying to get across here is that you should let go of your fear in order to live your life fully. The only thing fear does is hold you back, with the best intentions of course, but it’s not necessarily for the best. The moment you let go of your fears, you start talking to that random stranger that has a rad shirt on, you take the class you’ve been wanting to take but felt hesitant about, you go to that concert on your own, you fight your freight of heights and climb that tower to enjoy the magnificent view. Letting go of your fear is making place for new memories. Letting go of your fear is removing an obstacle from your path to greatness. Yes, you may fall flat on your nose from time to time, but I can assure you that that will be less regrettable than wondering what could have happened if you tried those things back then.

Go for it head first, invite life to throw you one amazing experience after another, be a little crazy, make memories, spread love everywhere as if it were confetti, and most of all have fun! Because that’s what life is all about, because in the end memories are all you have.

Kisses, kisses, kisses,

Schermafbeelding 2015-08-24 om 14.23.50

Header image by Stuart Vivier


Leave a Reply

