THE REAL ROAD TO HAPPINESS.

204H

For the past few months I’ve been living in a place of in-betweens. I got out of a relationship, moved away from home, left behind people I’ve known for years and started something new. But this new thing is not permanent, the house I live in will not be my home forever and the people around me now will be gone in about a year (no, they won’t die, you macabre soul, they’re just moving away). Even though I’ve kind of settled in the place I’m in now, I know that it won’t last and that makes me feel uneasy and slightly down sometimes – which obviously sucks.

“Your blog is about life-enhancement and positivity and you feel down? WHAT?!” Yes, I have my off moments. Not off days, though; I do feel happy and content every single day, just not every hour of every day. The thing is that you need to be able to reflect on the things you’re feeling and make the decision to not stay stuck in the gutter, but rather go out and change yourself into a happier being.

This weekend, both on Saturday and on Sunday, I woke up feeling like crap. All I wanted to do was stay in bed and watch Bridget Jones with litres of tea. After spending too much time on social media and refusing to get out of my pyjamas, I decided to put on some music, just for the sake of listening to someone else’s thoughts. Happy by C2C came along and everything changed. This particular song, with all its truthful words and awesome melodies has the ability to change my mindset within a matter of minutes, and it has saved the day multiple times already.
“You’ll never feel happy until you try.” that, ladies and gentlemen, is my current mantra and it will never get out of my head.

“I am good, but not an angel. I do sin, but I am not the devil. I am just a small girl in a big world trying to find someone to love.” – Marilyn Monroe

So off I went, getting myself ready in a whiffy, putting on my favourite all black outfit, rocking red lipstick and with no idea where I was going, I stepped out of the door another person. The rest of the day I walked around, feeling hugely content and apparently it was noticeable for others as well – I was approached by no less than seven strangers in the past weekend. Now I don’t know whether to blame the red lips or the smile that stretched along them, but I do know that when I feel happy people can feel it, and it makes them happy in return. That is what I want out of life, to feel good and make others feel that as well, because in the end it’s all about how you feel.

https://instagram.com/p/8s92JSC7-B/?taken-by=roseslittlegarden
Some of the strangers I just talked to for a few minutes, others I spent a bit more time with (resulting in funny photos of me looking either blissfully happy or like a complete numbnut – your choice), but all of them together made my weekend a magical one (thank you for that!).

“Human beings are works in progress that mistakenly think they’re finished.”

Knowing that you have the power to change your mindset at any given time is the most amazing and life-changing thing and it’s something worth thinking about. If I would’ve chosen to indeed stay in bed all day, none of those meetings would’ve happened and I undoubtedly would have felt even worse right now.
Yes, you deserve to feel the feelings you’re feeling, you don’t have to hide your sorrows, because sooner or later they’ll take you over and that won’t be pretty. But when you’ve processed all the bad things, it’s time to make yourself feel like the beautiful beam of sunlight you are, and to spread your light everywhere you go, because light is the most wonderful thing you can give another human being.

Breathe it all in. Love it all out.

All the love,

Schermafbeelding 2015-08-24 om 14.23.50


Leave a Reply

