POST INTERNET-RAGE GRATITUDE.

It’s Tuesday afternoon, and after almost a week of slight outbursts of anger and desperation, the internet in my house is finally working again. It took me a mere hour of non-connection to the Web to realise how much of my life is dependent on this magic that connects the world (I’m no engineer in the slightest, so magic it is). And now, I’m sitting in a hammock-style hanging chair with my laptop on my lap and the pure joy that comes with reading articles online, finding out things that I would have never known if it weren’t for the internet. With the joy came gratitude, and that brought me here, to share some of the things that I’ve come across and loved.

• I don’t know about you, but I don’t use the seemingly most productive two hours of my day to their full potential (I’m usually more likely to spend them in a sluggish mode of taking too long to get out of bed and get myself mentally ready for the day – such things may need some changing up). Time to try out a new routine!

• This isn’t a short read, but it’s life-changing and I urge you to take some time to think about ‘shoulds’ and ‘musts’.

Back at Mailbox, it was 8 a.m. on Thursday, February 7, 2013 when we popped the first bottle of champagne. There were 13 of us, and we were all wide-eyed, staring at our monitors, watching as nine months of work on the iPhone app was released into the world. As I looked around at the incredible people in that room, and watched the live ticker grow and grow, I knew that this moment was one of the highlights of my life. But, in the very back of my mind, I couldn’t help but wonder what any of it had to do with my dream of a white room.

• Sometimes, to find something you were looking for, means to let go of it completely, so it’s free to make its way toward you. This story seems like something every woman ought to go through at least once in her lifetime.

• I found Esmé’s blog a while ago and I fell in love with her writing as well as herself immediately. There’s not a person I’ve found on this earth who can calm me down as swiftly as she is capable of doing. And she knows we’re not lazy, she knows we’re trying, she knows it’s hard and she’s here to give all the kindness we need when we’re simply not feeling it.

Maybe you’re working yourself to the bone and you suspect you could be doing more, more, more, in which case I want to swaddle you in my diamond-print quilt and whisper, Hush, hush, you are okay, you are wonderful, you are doing the best that you can and I want to commend you for that.

• How does your clothing affect your skin?

• Adding new skills to our repertoire is something that makes life more exciting every day – happily, researchers have found a way to pick up on whatever it is we’re trying to learn more quickly. Time to get into calligraphy, Photoshop, and all kinds of mystical learning, I say! 

• Liz Gilbert is one of the loves of my life. Yes, Eat Pray Love did change my life (amongst millions of others, resulting in an after-book, ten years later), and her fiction is just as good. If you value creativity and living a life you’re in love with, watch her, read her, listen to her. She’s the bomb. 

• And if you adore TED as much as I do (and how could you not), take a look at their events page, there’s bound to be something going on near you some day soon!

I’m so grateful for living in the times of the internet, and the fact that Spring is making her first appearance makes my heart jump with every sunbeam. It’s high time to get out from under Winter’s big blanket of the blues, and spend some time in the sun to charge up on some well-needed vitamin D.

Love,

autograph


Leave a Reply

