MISCELLANY: OCTOBER 21

IMG_6711.JPG

Miscellany is a weekly edit in which we share any kinds of things that have been on our mind for the week, plus some articles that we came across on the internet, hoping you fall for them the way we did.

“Life starts all over again when it gets crisp in the fall.”
– F. Scott Fitzgerald

I have become fascinated with change. Mostly because I am seeing so much of it in myself, everyday, I suppose. And the more I sense the shifts within me, the more I feel it on the outside, because life is an ever changing experience, we just don’t always have our eyes open to it all. The thing is, we sometimes need guidance to change, to see the change, to feel the change, to participate in the truest form of living (which, when we’re truly guided by our curiosity, means being in a constant flow of change), and in order to receive such guidance, we need to be open to it. Find your guidance, in whatever of whomever may feel right, and catapult yourself into a new version of you – it’s fantastic.

+ On expressing your opinion, because it’s damn important. “First off, we usually do have an opinion, even about seemingly insignificant choices. It might not throw my world out of orbit if I end up eating Thai food, but given my druthers, I’d prefer a gluten-free enchilada.” Shrugging’s for Chumps – by Esmé Weijun Wang, via The Journal, her personal blog.

+ On having true, deep conversations. “O.K., so I may have been directing some of my brokenhearted anger at them, but all I could think was that I wanted no part of this game. If being single meant having to partake in this kind of conversation, I’d rather pass. How could I go from the deep connection I had with Alejandra to discussing bus schedules and weather patterns?” The End of Small Talk – by Tim Boomer, via The New York Times 

+ On turning a bad day into a good one, you know, in case the autumn blues got a hold of you. “At least once a week I succumb to Newton’s First Law. You know: an object in motion stays in motion with the same speed and in the same direction unless acted upon. And in this case, I’m an object that is very busy refreshing her social media accounts and wearing her yoga pants all day.” How To Restart A Bad Day – by Sarah Von Bargen, via Yes And Yes.

+ On how to be in the moment, and be happy. “But the future is still not here, and cannot become a part of experienced reality until it is present. Since what we know of the future is made up of purely abstract and logical elements — inferences, guesses, deductions — it cannot be eaten, felt, smelled, seen, heard, or otherwise enjoyed. To pursue it is to pursue a constantly retreating phantom, and the faster you chase it, the faster it runs ahead.” An Antidote to the Age of Anxiety: Alan Watts on Happiness and How to Live with Presence – by Maria Popova, via BrainPickings.

+ On being from New York. (This made me laugh so hard.) “Already ripe avocados? Get out of here with that nonsense, Ralphs. I’m from New York, where, in lieu of avocados, grocery stores put out six hundred petrified dragon eggs and shoppers must squeeze every last one of them before buying the softest but still rock-hard option, and then bring it home and watch it go from unripe to completely rotten without ever once being edible. That’s how New Yorkers do avocados.” No, I’m From New York – by Susanna Wolff, via The New Yorker

+ On the strangeness of dating in Paris. ““Bonjour Sara. Ca va bien?” (Hello, Sara, are you well?) followed by a flower bouquet and kissy-face emojis.“Dispo aujourd’hui pour un verre?” (Are you available today for a glass of wine?) followed by a wine-glass emoji.I was available, actually, but holy emojis! Wasn’t he coming on a little strong? In New York, where I’d lived before moving to Paris, kissy faces were reserved for further along in the relationship — you know, like post-marriage.” Dating in New York Ruined Me for Paris – by Sara Lieberman, via The Cut

Happy weekend! 


Leave a Reply

