THE TIME OF LOOKING FORWARD WILL COME, JUST NOT YET.

img_6561

As of this week, I’m realising that it’s November. And November means the end of the year is nigh. Meaning that 2017 is around the corner, luring us in with an endless sea possibility. And as I realise this, there is a little voice in the back of my mind telling me to start making plans to fill in 2017’s blanks, to structure the sea, if you will. Maybe I should go travel. Maybe I could start learning a new craft. Maybe I will. Or maybe not. But maybe, just maybe, it’s okay to let all the planning start when we reach the shore of this unknown sea. Later.

For now, I’d rather spend my time listening to my DECEMBER 2015 playlist, which has spent almost a year waiting for me, completely untouched. Alt-J, Foo Fighters, Meat Loaf, Michael Bublé, Elton John. Oh, I’ve missed these guys. And oh, suddenly I’m transported straight back. Back to where I was when this very playlist was the only thing I listened to, day after day.

“And I guess that’s why they call it the blues, time on my hands could be time spent with you.” Sweet. Flashback to walking (dancing) through Hyde Park, on the way back from TAP Coffee, the aftertaste of London’s best roast still lingering in my mouth.

So much has changed. So much has happened. And there is so much beauty to be found in that, which is why I’m choosing to spend the last 51 days of the year honouring the progress I’ve made, the moments that have formed me into the person I am now, the memories of a strange year. Because I was in love with 2015. And I am in love with the change that 2016 has brought forth.

Time of reflection. Appreciation. Finding truth in all that has happened and taking knowledge from lessons learned into all that will come.

autograph


Leave a Reply

