MUSIC THAT MAKES ME LAY ON THE FLOOR AND LISTEN. AND NOTHING MORE.

IMG_5651.JPG

I recently found out about Father John Misty. You know, the man who is a world of contradictions, makes beautiful (and sometimes slightly hilarious) music, and, you know, lights up parts of me that not many other artists seem to do right now.

I love it. A lot. 

And so, pretty much all I want to do right now is lay on the floor, in my robe, and listen to the whole of I Love You, Honeybear on repeat. Which I will do, actually. Right after this. But first, let me share some of Father’s most magical words with you.

But don’t ever doubt this, my steadfast conviction
My love, you’re the one I want to watch the ship go down with
The future can’t be real, I barely know how long a moment is
Unless we’re naked getting high on the mattress
While the global market crashes
As death fills the streets we’re garden variety oblivious
You grab my hand and say
In I-told-you-so voice
“It’s just how we expected.”

&

There’s no need to fear me
Darling, I love you as you are when you’re alone

&

When can we talk
With the face
Instead of using all these strange devices?
Seems like
You and I
Need to have a crazy conversation
Wouldn’t be that hard
Get along so well
Sentence by sentence
It’s a trial run
Let me show you how
Figure I can give you true affection

autograph

 


Leave a Reply

