GOOD BYE 2016: MISCELLANY.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I just rose up from my bed, releasing my mind from a 30 minute meditation – just what the doctor ordered. It’ll be 2017 in two days, and I am as excited to be rid of 2016 as anyone, especially since the end of it was… well, rather horrible. Loss has hardened parts of me that I wanted to keep soft: I have some work to do next year. My mind has been racing, because of all that has happened, examining life and all that it possibly could mean, without pause. This past month has left me utterly exhausted, making the coming of a new year all the more welcome. I do believe in leaving old ends, opening up to new beginnings, and as much as I’ve tried to shoo away any resolutions these past couple of years (because I also believe in putting in the work on the daily, not just going for something as a new year begins), I’ve decided to kind of go for them the day after tomorrow, to take this new start as a new start (one of many). The resolutions are not quite new, though, they’re just the things I wish I would’ve put myself to doing this year, but didn’t, because I’m a master slacker.

“We are here to laugh at the odds
and live our lives 
so well 
that Death will tremble to take us.”
-Charles Bukowski

That’s all I can truly wish for, for the upcoming 365 days, to have myself find the wild, to live well, to feel deeply, to stray from fear and live with my heart open wide, ready for anything. I’m ready, and I truly hope you are too.

Here’s a love list: things that kept me sane and wildly happy through the madness that was this year, maybe they’ll light you up as well.

 

Books.

+ Fates & Furies by Lauren Groff. I fell for the cover of this book instantaneously, when I was in the big Waterstones at Piccadilly Circus, making me unable to keep myself from buying it. And I haven’t regretted it for a second. It’s a multilayered mysterious love story that made me yearn to get back to it every time I was doing anything else.

+ Radical Self Love by Gala Darling. I carry it with me as though Gala is my Goddess, and read it in times of need.

+ #GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso. I’m late to the game, always am, but ho-ly shit I love this book. If you wanna get shit done, I highly encourage you to give it a read, it’ll get the engine started.

+ The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins. It’s worth the rage. I read the whole book in one go, which is quite something for someone who reads as slowly as I do.

 

 

Media.

+ The Joe Rogan Experience. Everyone who knows me knows about my obsession with Joe Rogan (I talk about him the way people talk about Breaking Bad), and I can (and will) keep going on about the man until the day I seize to exist. One of my favourite episodes of the podcast this year was this one, with Russell Brand and Jim Breuer – it’s amazing.

+ The Paris Review. I find myself scrolling through articles on the website for hours on end, and I don’t even mind it. The writing is witty, intelligent and every single article I’ve come across thus far has been able to hold my interest – amazing, I tell you. 

+ FitnessBlender. The source of my increased strength and decreased physical softness. Fitness has become a major thing in my life, to the point where I annoy people with facts about health and such. FitnessBlender is where that started out, and I’m infinitely grateful for Daniel and Kelli doing what they’re doing, even though I swear at them on a weekly basis when HIIT becomes a bit intense. 

+ Onnit AcademyAubrey Marcus’s company Onnit, which focuses on total human optimisation, is amazing in all aspects. The Academy is where I get most of my information on nutrition, fitness and overall health, which have been major factors for me this year. Aubrey is also on a few JRE podcast episodes, and they’re all well worth a watch.

 

Words.

 I have already
lost touch
with
a couple
of people
I used to be.
                    – Joan Didion

 

 Live the full life of
the mind, exhilarated by
new ideas, intoxicated by
the romance of the unusual.
                    – Ernest Hemingway

 

We are all alone, born alone, 
die alone, and – in spite of 
True Romance magazines – we 
shall someday look back on 
our lives and see that, in
spite of our company, we were 
alone the whole way. I do not 
say lonely – at least, not all 
the time – but essentially, 
and finally, alone. This is 
what makes your self-respect 
so important, and I don’t see 
how you can respect yourself 
if you must look in the hearts 
and minds of others for your 
happiness. 

                    – Hunter S. Thompson

 

 

Had I not 
created my whole world 
I would certainly 
have died 
in other people’s. 
                    – Anais Nin 

 

The great art of life is 
sensation, to feel that we 
exist, even in pain. 
                    – Lord Byron 
 

 Happy new year. 


Leave a Reply

